Meeting The Parent

This morning I woke up in a tangle of sweaty sheets.  Alone and flustered.  Today is the day I meet the Boyfriend’s mom in person for the first time.  I’m not all that nervous since we’ve talked a number of times before.  But it’s definitely something I didn’t want to sleep through of go unshowered to.

After tossing around for about ten minutes and turning my alarm clock around so that I could pretend I didn’t have to get up, the desire to run seized me.  That was weird.  Me? Having a desire to run? What is the world coming to?

Before I could change my mind and stumble into the kitchen and put the kettle on, I bolted into the closet and pulled on a sportsbra and tank top.  Luckily my running shoes were on the top of the pile, giving me no alternative but to put them on.

And then, before I knew it, I was hopping down the stairs and letting myself into the apartment building’s gym.  I ran longer than I ever have before (longer than yesterday that is).   And now I’m dressed, caffeinated, and sore.  Ready for some tea and scones with Boyfriend’s mom.

Leave a Reply

