Staring At My Painting

I can not stop staring at my painting.  It’s half finished and I still hate it (are we surprised? I am definitely not).  I am two cups of ginger tea into my night, and have a feeling that it’s going to take a toll on my tea supply to finish this one.

Couldn’t I just abandon it?  Couldn’t I just take this stupid sheet of paper off my drawing board, tuck it beneath the bed and start another one?  I have an entire pad of paper begging to be used.

I don’t know, I just can’t do it.  Maybe it’s something about the fact that it’s a self portrait and I feel like I should be a little better to myself.  Maybe it’s because I’m actually more than halfway done and I’m just telling myself it’s half way done because I hate it?  Maybe I’m just too damn stubborn for my own good?  That’s probably it.  My First Love’s mom even told me that I was “too stubborn to be a Pisces”.

In any event, this painting is keeping me from getting anything done.  Today was spent in bed for the most part.  I worked a pointlessly short shift at the Coffee Shop and then came home and did pretty much nothing for the rest of the day.

. . .

nothing but stare at that painting . . .

. . . feeling a bit like Dorian Gray. . .

. . .

That was too scary.  I need to finish it now.  Long story short, sorry for the lack of blog post -OR- finished painting.  And because I promised to blog every day this year, you get these excellent filler pieces.  Go me.

Back to work.

Leave a Reply

